Интерпол доложил об увеличении числа жалоб от беженцев и впервые публично признал политически мотивированные преследования предпринимателей среди основных проблем, стоящих перед организацией

Интерпол доложил об увеличении числа жалоб от беженцев и впервые публично признал политически мотивированные преследования предпринимателей среди основных проблем, стоящих перед организацией

В своем самом недавнем ежегодном отчете, за 2016 год, Комиссия по контролю за архивами Интерпола докладывает об увеличении жалоб, поступивших от лиц со статусом беженца, и впервые в своих ежегодных публикациях указывает на политически мотивированные уголовные преследования предпринимателей как на одну из основных проблем, стоящих перед организацией.  Несмотря на то, что увеличение числа жалоб беженцев является заслуживающим внимания фактом, такого развития событий следовало ожидать.  В июне 2014 года Исполнительный комитет Интерпола утвердил новый подход в отношении лиц со статусом беженца, предоставивший таким лицам относительно упрощенный порядок удаления информации о них из баз данных Интерпола.  Растущее число беженцев, обращающихся в Интерпол с ходатайствами об удалении запросов «с красным углом» или диффузий, является естественным следствием принятого Исполнительным комитетом нового подхода.  В то же время, публичное признание Интерполом проблемы использования каналов организации для политически мотивированных преследований предпринимателей — крайне важная новость.

Об использовании каналов Интерпола для незаконных преследований предпринимателей известно давно.  Существование этой проблемы не являлось секретом задолго до публикации доклада Комиссии за 2016 год.  Несмотря на это, до публикации доклада организация отказывалась публично признать ее существование.  Вместо Интерпола, о многочисленных случаях использования каналов организации для преследования предпринимателей сообщали средства массовой информации и правозащитники.  Предприниматели, активно занимающиеся политикой или оказавшиеся стороной в гражданском споре против правительства или частного лица, имеющего связи в правительственных кругах, часто становятся жертвами коррумпированных уголовных преследований, основанных на сфабрикованных обвинениях.  Такие уголовные дела используются против предпринимателей, которые не соглашаются оставить свою политическую или деловую активность или отозвать поданные ими на законных основаниях гражданские иски или административные или уголовные жалобы.  При этом, бизнесмены, которым удается покинуть территорию государства до того, как правительство ограничит их свободу передвижения, часто подвергаются аресту в других странах, оказываются под угрозой экстрадиции, не могут путешествовать, заниматься бизнесом или просто открыть личный банковский счет из-за опубликованного в базах данных Интерпола запроса «с красным углом» или диффузии.

В соответствии со статьей 2 конституции Интерпола международное сотрудничество правоохранительных органов должно осуществляться в соответствии с законодательством стран-членов организации и в духе Всеобщей декларации прав человека.  Статья 3 конституции содержит строгий запрет на участие Интерпола в каких-либо акциях политического, военного, религиозного или расового характера.  Если гражданин, объявленный в международный уголовный розыск по каналам Интерпола, полагает, что государство нарушило свое национальное законодательство, Всеобщую декларацию прав человека или преследует такое лицо за его или ее политические воззерния, такому гражданину следует рассмотреть возможность ходатайствовать об удалении информации о нем или о ней из баз данных Интерпола на основании положений указанных статей конституции.  Кроме того, предпринимателям следует обратить внимание на содержащееся в правилах Интерпола положение, в соответствии с которым запрещается публикация запросов «с красным углом» в отношении «частных споров», например, когда в основе запроса «с красным углом» или диффузии лежит уголовное обвинение, вытекающее из гражданского спора, нежели из уголовного деяния.

Follow by Email
RSS
Facebook
Google+
Twitter
LinkedIn

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

close

Подпишитесть чтобы получать новые посты по email!

INTERPOL Sees Increase in Complaints from Refugees, Highlights Politically Motivated Prosecutions of Businessmen Among Main Issues

INTERPOL Sees Increase in Complaints from Refugees, Highlights Politically Motivated Prosecutions of Businessmen Among Main Issues

In its 2016, most recent, annual report, the Commission for the Control of INTERPOL’s Files cites an increase in the number of complaints from refugees and for the first time in its annual public disclosures recognizes politically motivated prosecutions of businessmen among the main issues before it.  Although notable, the increase in complaints from refugees was expected.  In June 2014, the INTERPOL Executive Committee introduced a policy, which provided refugees with a somewhat simplified path to red-notice-free status.  It isn’t surprising, therefore, that more refugees have been petitioning INTERPOL to delete their information from its files.  However, that INTERPOL has finally publicly named politically motivated red notices issued against businessmen among its main issues is a very important development.

For a long time, long before the Commission’s 2016 report, entrepreneurs have been among the main targets of INTERPOL red notice abuse.  Nevertheless, INTERPOL would not admit the problem to the general public. Instead, human rights advocates and the media reported multiple individual cases.  Entrepreneurs who take on an active role in politics or find themselves in a dispute with a government or with someone closely connected to the government often become victims of corrupt prosecutions based on trumped-up charges.  Such prosecutions are regularly used to retaliate against entrepreneurs who refuse to cease their political activities, give up their business interests, or abandon legitimate civil lawsuits or administrative or criminal complaints.  Entrepreneurs who manage to leave their countries before the government restricts their freedom of movement are often arrested abroad, placed in extradition proceedings, find themselves unable to travel, do business, or simply open a personal bank account due to the red notice or diffusion recorded in INTERPOL’s files.

Article 2 of the INTERPOL Constitution requires international police cooperation to be conducted in accordance with the member countries’ national laws and in the spirit of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and Article 3 strictly forbids INTERPOL to undertake any “intervention or activities of a political, military, religious or racial character.”  An individual on the INTERPOL wanted list who believes that in the course of the criminal case the government violated the country’s laws, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, or prosecuted the individual for her or his political beliefs should consider invoking Article 2 or Article 3 or both.  In addition, entrepreneurs should consider the “private disputes” provision of the INTERPOL Rules on the Processing of Data.  The provision prohibits the publication of a red notice if the offense behind it derives from a private dispute, “unless the criminal activity is aimed at facilitating a serious crime or is suspected of being connected to organized crime.”  Some of the Commission’s decisions regarding red notices and diffusions issued against entrepreneurs suggest that entrepreneurs may indeed benefit from the “private disputes” provision, for example, when a red notice or diffusion arises from a dispute of a civil, rather than criminal, nature and, therefore, must be resolved in the course of a civil, rather than criminal, trial.

The INTERPOL Repository of Practice contains very useful information about INTERPOL’s application of Article 3 to red notices and diffusions issued in a political context, including charges against current and former politicians, offences concerning freedom of expression, assembly, and association, security of the state, unconstitutional seizure of power, embargo and sanctions, and elections.  Since 2014, the Commission for the Control of INTERPOL’s Files has seen an increase in the number of complaints alleging violations of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.  In this regard, INTERPOL has yet to compile a repository of practice on Article 2 of the Constitution, although the Commission has already started developing its own “case law” in this area.  Now, that the Commission has recognized unlawful prosecutions of businessmen among the main issues before it, it is time for the Commission and INTERPOL to admit  that the “private disputes” provision needs its own repository of practice.  Indeed, when engaging in corrupt prosecutions, governments often charge entrepreneurs with crimes of a business nature that may look like they are related to the entrepreneur’s professional activities and thereby lend the criminal case some appearance of legitimacy but in fact are used to illegally transform what really is a civil private dispute into a criminal case.  It is, therefore, crucial for INTERPOL and the Commission to be transparent about how they interpret and apply the “private disputes” provision and for that purpose compile, publish, and constantly update a detailed repository of practice.

Follow by Email
RSS
Facebook
Google+
Twitter
LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

close

Subscribe to receive new posts by email!